Facilities

PFNT Facility

Neuroscience has become a highly technological discipline that requires expensive and complex equipments. The implementation of shared facilities allows the research community of the NeuroTimone center to have access to cutting-edge techniques to develop ambitious and globally competitive projects in different fields of research. These projects give rise to high-level scientific publications and to valorization and transfer through patents and the creation of innovative companies.

The NeuroTimone Facility PFNT is an integral part of this framework and offers cutting-edge tools in neurobiology organized around three main components:

  • the “Neuro Cellular Imaging Support” NCIS is one of the two components of the PImaNT facility (Photonic Imaging NeuroTimone Facility), which offers a wide range of photonic imaging techniques to address the study of the brain and nervous system in all its complexity. The technologies offered by the NCIS are based on superresolution microscopy, high-throughput live cell imaging and fast high-resolution confocal microscopy. The second component of PImaNT, the INPHIM (In vivo Neuronal Photonic Imaging) hosted by the Institut des Neurosciences Timone (INT), combines in vivo and in vitro twophoton microscopy, light sheet microscopy, and mesoscopic and optogenetic optical imaging.
  • the “Interactome NeuroTimone Platform PINT is a platform focused on the detection and study of proteinprotein interactions by orthogonal and complementary biophysical approaches: surface plasmon resonance (SPR), microcalorimetry, analytical ultracentrifugation (UCA) and mass spectrometry.
  • the “NeuroTimone Stem Cell Center” SCeNT is a cell culture infrastructure (including human cells, L2 level) for the preparation of induced pluripotent stem cells (iPSCs) from somatic cells of patients and cellular models of pathologies derived therefrom.

These 3 components are complemented by a quantitative PCR platform, PTQPCR.

The proximity of the PFNT Facility with the "Center of Scientific Functional Exploration" CEFOS will complement molecular and cellular approaches with integrated approaches on animal models.

Each component of the PFNT Facility has a Users Committee moderated by the scientific supervisor and the engineer(s) responsible(s) for the component. Their recommendations are submitted to the PFNT Governance composed of a Steering and Coordination Committee (CPC) composed of the representatives of the AMU, Inserm and CNRS Supervisory Authorities, the supervisors of each component of the PFNT, the Secretary General of the PFNT, the PFNT Coordinator and chaired by the Director of the INP as the main home laboratory. The PFNT has a Scientific Strategic Committee composed of the CPC members and the team leaders of the PFNT adjoining laboratories.

In accordance with the charter of “Plateformes technologiques d’Aix-Marseille”, the technological services offered by the PFNT facility are open to public and private laboratories. Fees are established using the Tapla pricing tool.

The PFNT is supported by the State through the Regional Delegation for Research and Technology, the Provence-Alpes-Côte-d'Azur Region, the Bouches-du-Rhône Department and the City of Marseille. These supports registered in the state-region plan contract (CPER) will be complemented by European support, still under review, in the context of the FEDER program.

Plateformes

Plateforme NeuroTimone PFNT

Les neurosciences sont des disciplines hautement technologiques, qui nécessitent des équipement coûteux et complexes. La mise en place de plateformes mutualisées permet à l’ensemble de la communauté des chercheurs du pôle NeuroTimone d’accéder à des techniques de pointe pour développer des projets ambitieux, mondialement compétitifs dans leur domaine de recherche. Ces projets se concrétisent par un volume de publications scientifiques de haut niveau, ainsi qu’une valorisation par le biais de brevets et la création d’entreprises innovantes.

La Plateforme NeuroTimone PFNT s’inscrit dans cette dynamique forte et propose des outils de pointe en neurobiologie organisés autour de trois composantes principales :

  • le « Neuro Cellular Imaging Support » NCIS est une des deux composantes de la Plateforme “Photonic Imaging NeuroTimone” PImaNT qui propose un large éventail de techniques d’imagerie photonique permettant d’aborder l’étude du cerveau et du système nerveux dans toute sa complexité. Les technologies proposées par le NCIS s’articulent autour de la microscopie super-résolution, l’imagerie sur cellules vivantes à haut débit et la microscopie confocale rapide à haute résolution. La deuxième composante de PImaNT le « In vivo neuronal photonic imaging » INPHIM hébergé par l’Institut des Neurosciences Timone (INT),  réunit un plateau de microscopie biphotonique in vivo et in vitro, de microscopie à feuille de lumière, et d’imagerie optique mésoscopique et optogénétique.
  • la « Plateforme Interactome NeuroTimone » PINT est un plateau centré sur la détection et l'étude des interactions protéines-protéines par des approches orthogonales et complémentaires de biophysique : la résonnance plasmonique de surface (SPR), la microcalorimétrie, l’ultracentrifugation analytique (UCA) et la spectrométrie de masse.
  • le « Stem Cell center NeuroTimone » SCeNT est une infrastructure de culture cellulaire (notamment cellules humaines, niveau L2) pour la préparation de cellules souches pluripotentes induites (iPSCs), à partir de cellules somatiques de patients, et les modèles cellulaires de pathologies qui en dérivent.

Ces 3 composantes sont complétées par un plateau de PCR quantitative, PTQPCR.

La proximité de la PFNT avec le  « Centre d’Exploration Fonctionnelle Scientifique » CEFOS permet de compléter les approches moléculaires et cellulaires avec des approches intégrées sur modèles animaux.

Chaque composante de la PFNT dispose d’un Comité d’utilisateurs animé par le ou la Responsable scientifique et l’Ingénieur(e)  responsables de la composante. Leurs recommandations sont soumises à la Gouvernance de la PFNT composé d’un Comité de Pilotage et de Coordination (CPC) constitué des Représentants des Tutelles AMU, Inserm et CNRS, des Responsables de chaque composante de la PFNT, du Secrétaire général de la PFNT, du Coordinateur de la PFNT et présidé par le Directeur de l’INP, principal laboratoire de rattachement de la PFNT. La PFNT dispose d’un Comité Stratégique Scientifique constitué des Membres du CPC et des Responsables d’équipe des laboratoires de rattachement de la PFNT.

Conformément à la charte des « Plateformes technologiques d’Aix-Marseille » labellisées, l’offre en prestations technologiques de la PFNT est accessible aux laboratoires publics et privés suivant une tarification mise en place à l’aide de l’outil TaPla d’aide à la tarification.

La PFNT bénéficie, pour son développement, du soutien de l’Etat via la Délégation Régionale à la Recherche et la Technologie, de la Région Provence Alpes Côte d’Azur, du Département des Bouches du Rhône et de la Ville de Marseille. Ces soutiens inscrits au CPER Contrant de Plan Etat Région seront complétés par un soutien en cours d’instruction de l’Europe dans le cadre du programme FEDER.